Home Movies “Spotlight” Sweeps Indie Spirits, Best Actor Goes to 15 Year Old Ghanian...

Tom McCarthy’s “Spotlight” swept the Independent Spirit Awards today at the annual afternoon celebration in a huge tent on the beach in Santa Monica. “Spotlight” won Best Feature, Best Director, Screenplay and Editing.

The brilliant artist Ed Lachman won Best Cinematography for “Carol.”

Brie Larson won Best Actress for “Room.” Emma Donahue Won Best First Screenplay for “Room” as well.

But the big news was that “Beasts of No Nation” picked up Best Actor for 15 year old Abraham Attah of Ghana, and Supporting Actor for Idris Elba. They each received huge ovations.

“Saturday Night Live” star Kate McKinnon and Kumail Nanjiani were the best cohosts in years. And the show was the best in years, returning to a real spirit of indie filmmaking. McKinnon’s video parodies of “Room” and “Carol” were sublimely funny. The pair made a good team.


Best Feature: Spotlight (Open Road Films)

Producers: Blye Pagon Faust, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, Michael Sugar

Best Director: Tom McCarthy, Spotlight (Open Road Films)

Best Screenplay: Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer, Spotlight (Open Road Films)

Best First Feature: The Diary of a Teenage Girl (Sony Pictures Classics)

Director: Marielle Heller

Producers: Miranda Bailey, Anne Carey, Bert Hamelinck, Madeline Samit

Best First Screenplay: Emma Donoghue, Room (A24)

John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000): Krisha (A24)

Writer/Director/Producer: Trey Edward Shults

Producers: Justin R. Chan, Chase Joliet, Wilson Smith

Best Supporting Female: Mya Taylor,Tangerine (Magnolia Pictures)

Best Supporting Male: Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation (Bleecker Street/Netflix)

Best Female Lead: Brie Larson, Room (A24)

Best Male Lead: Abraham Attah, Beasts of No Nation (Bleecker Street/Netflix)

Robert Altman Award: Spotlight (Open Road Films)

Director: Tom McCarthy

Casting Directors: Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee

Ensemble Cast: Billy Crudup, Michael Cyril Creighton, Paul Guilfoyle, Neal Huff, Brian d’Arcy James, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Mark Ruffalo, Liev Schreiber, Jamey Sheridan, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci

Best Cinematography: Ed Lachman, Carol (The Weinstein Company)

Best Editing: Tom McArdle, Spotlight (Open Road Films)

Best International Film: Son of Saul (Hungary – Sony Pictures Classics)

Director: László Nemes

Best Documentary: The Look of Silence (Drafthouse Films/Participant Media)

Director: Joshua Oppenheimer

Producer: Signe Byrge Sørensen

Share and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.