Sunday, April 21, 2024

Washington DC Critics Choose “Zero,” Elevate Philip Seymour Hoffman from “The Master”


“Zero Dark Thirty” continued the pattern of “The Social network” this morning. It was chosen Best Film by the Washington DC area movie critics. They picked its director, Kathryn Bigelow, and star Jessica Chastain as Best Director and Actress. Daniel Day Lewis is Best Actor and Philip Seymour Hoffman, from “The Master,” is Best Supporting Actor. (These people are smart.) “Zero Dark” is crackling along as the critics’ choice, but it’s unclear if it can win the Oscar.

The 2012 WAFCA Award Winners:

Best Film:
Zero Dark Thirty

Best Director:
Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Actor:
Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

Best Actress:
Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Supporting Actor:
Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)

Best Supporting Actress:
Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)

Best Acting Ensemble:
Les Miserables

Best Adapted Screenplay:
David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook)

Best Original Screenplay:
Rian Johnson (Looper)

Best Animated Feature:

Best Documentary:

Best Foreign Language Film:

Best Art Direction:
Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup – Production Designers; Peter Walpole, Rebecca Alleway – Set Decorators (Cloud Atlas)

Best Cinematography:
Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)

Best Score:
Jonny Greenwood (The Master)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Youth Performance:
Quvenzhane Wallis
(Beasts of the Southern Wild)

The 2012 WAFCA Award Nominees Were:


Best Film: Best Original Screenplay:
Argo Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained)
Les Miserables Rian Johnson (Looper)
Lincoln Paul Thomas Anderson (The Master)
Silver Linings Playbook Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola (Moonrise Kingdom)
Zero Dark Thirty Mark Boal (Zero Dark Thirty)
Best Director:       Best Animated Feature:
Ben Affleck (Argo) Brave
Paul Thomas Anderson (The Master) Frankenweenie
Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty) ParaNorman
Tom Hooper (Les Miserables) Rise of the Guardians
Steven Spielberg (Lincoln) Wreck-It Ralph
Best Actor: Best Documentary:
Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln) Bully
John Hawkes (The Sessions) The Imposter
Hugh Jackman (Les Miserables) The Invisible War
Joaquin Phoenix (The Master) The Queen of Versailles
Denzel Washington (Flight) Searching for Sugar Man
Best Actress: Best Foreign Language Film:
Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty) Amour
Marion Cotillard (Rust and Bone) The Intouchables
Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook) I Wish
Helen Mirren (Hitchcock) A Royal Affair
Emmanuelle Riva (Amour) Rust and Bone
Best Supporting Actor: Best Art Direction:
Alan Arkin (Argo) Sarah Greenwood – Production Designer; Katie Spencer – Set Decorator (Anna Karenina)
Javier Bardem (Skyfall) Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup – Production Designers; Peter Walpole, Rebecca Alleway – Set Decorators (Cloud Atlas)
Leonardo DiCaprio (Django Unchained) Eve Stewart – Production Designer; Anna Lynch-Robinson – Set Decorator (Les Miserables)
Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master) Rick Carter – Production Designer; Jim Erickson – Set Decorator (Lincoln)
Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln) Adam Stockhausen – Production Designer; Kris Moran – Set Decorator (Moonrise Kingdom)
Best Supporting Actress: Best Cinematography:
Amy Adams (The Master) Danny Cohen (Les Miserables)
Samantha Barks (Les Miserables) Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)
Sally Field (Lincoln) Mihai Malaimare Jr. (The Master)
Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables) Roger Deakins (Skyfall)
Helen Hunt (The Sessions) Greig Fraser (Zero Dark Thirty)
Best Acting Ensemble: Best Score:
Argo Dan Romer & Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
Les Miserables Howard Shore (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey)
Lincoln John Williams (Lincoln)
Moonrise Kingdom Jonny Greenwood (The Master)
Zero Dark Thirty Alexandre Desplat (Moonrise Kingdom)
Best Adapted Screenplay: Best Youth Performance:
Chris Terrio (Argo) Jared Gilmore (Moonrise Kingdom)
David Magee (Life of Pi) Kara Hayward (Moonrise Kingdom)
Tony Kushner (Lincoln) Tom Holland (The Impossible)
Stephen Chbosky (The Perks of Being a Wallflower) Logan Lerman (The Perks of Being a Wallflower)
David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook) Quvenzhane Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News