Saturday, May 18, 2024

Awards Season News: Critics Choice Takes January 15th in Presumptive Strike


Awards season is on, baby!

The Critics Choice Awards will go on January 15th on the CW Network. The announcement is a presumptive strike against the possible Golden Globes, which would have to shoehorn themselves in a week before if NBC decides to bring them back.

Here’s the whole list of Critics Choice Awards shows coming this season. Congrats to Madelyn Hammond, who will produce the whole schedule. Madelyn is Hollywood’s hidden power, and she does it with a big smile.

The 28th annual Critics Choice Awards will return to the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles on Sunday, January 15, 2023, airing live on The CW from 7:00 – 10:00 pm ET (delayed PT – check local listings). The show will continue its combined film and television awards format honoring the best in cinematic, televised, and streaming achievement. Historically, the Critics Choice Awards are the most accurate predictor of Academy Award nominations. Bob Bain will serve as the Executive Producer.

The 7th annual Critics Choice Documentary Awards are set for November 13, 2022 at a new and larger venue this year, the Edison Ballroom in Manhattan. The deadline for submissions is September 16, 2022; nominations will be announced on October 17, 2022. Last year’s winners included Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised), The Rescue, Val, The Crime of the Century, Becoming Cousteau, The Alpinist, and The Queen of Basketball. Bob Bain will serve as the Executive Producer.

The 5th annual Celebration of Black Cinema & Television will be held December 5, 2022 at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel. Last year’s honorees included Halle Berry, Anthony Anderson, Jennifer Hudson, Barry Jenkins, Ava DuVernay, Idris Elba, Regina King, Jonathan Majors, Danielle Brooks, Robin Thede and Kenan Thompson. Critics Choice Association Board Member Shawn Edwards serves as the Executive Producer/Co-Writer of the Celebration of Black Cinema & Television.

The 2nd annual Celebration of Latino Cinema & Television will hold its first in-person ceremony at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel on October 7, 2022, following the success of last year’s virtual event. The 2021 inaugural celebration honored Rita Moreno, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Demián Bichir, Gloria Estefan, Reinaldo Marcus Green, Clifton Collins Jr., Eugenio Derbez and Olga Merediz. This year’s event has expanded to include television honorees, in addition to film awardees. Critics Choice Association Board Member Clayton Davis will serve as the Co-Programmer/Co-Writer for the Celebration of Latino Cinema & Television.

The inaugural Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema & Television will debut on November 4, 2022 at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel. With noteworthy performances in projects such as Everything Everywhere All at Once, Turning Red, Squid Game, Pachinko, Never Have I Ever, Station Eleven, and many more, there has never been a better time to launch the inaugural Celebration of Asian Pacific Cinema & Television. Critics Choice Association member Kylie Mar will serve as the Co-Programmer/Co-Writer for the event.

Each of the three Celebrations will be produced by Madelyn Hammond and Javier Infante of Madelyn Hammond & Associates.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News