Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Movie Academy Adds Governors Awards to Oscar Weekend, Honoring Sam Jackson, Elaine May, Liv Ullmann, and Danny Glover


The Motion Picture Academy has great news.

The postponed Governor’s Awards will kick off Oscar weekend on March 25th. The awards– Lifetime honors– will go to Samuel L. Jackson, Liv Ullmann, Elaine May, and Danny Glover. Glover will get the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award.

Jennifer Fox is producing the scaled back event at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland in Hollywood.

This is the perfect solution to when to have this dinner. And maybe it will become a tradition. The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”


The Oscars air March 27th on ABC.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News