Friday, May 24, 2024

Broadway: CBS Will Not Give Best Actors, Actresses Tony Awards on Air, Only on Streaming Special


The belated 2020 Tony Awards are coming this Sunday, but on CBS they will be an iffy deal.

CBS is running a two hour special from 9 to 11pm on the network, but they will only give three Tony Awards — to Best Play, Best Musical, and Best Revival of a Play.

Everything else will air on Paramount Plus, a subscription service, from 7 to 9pm. This means that Adrienne Warren and Aaron Tveit, who’ve been waiting a year and a half, will not be featured on the CBS Tony celebration special. (Warren is the star of “Tina: The Tina Turner Musical.” Tveit, from “Moulin Rouge,” is the only nominee in his category!)

Audra MacDonald, who’s won six Tony Awards, will host the Paramount Plus special. Leslie Odom, Jr., Tony winner for “Hamilton,” will host the two hour CBS special.

Stars to be featured on the CBS portion include Annaleigh Ashford, Kerry Butler, Kristin Chenoweth, André De Shields, Jake Gyllenhaal, Christopher Jackson, Idina Menzel, Ruthie Ann Miles, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Bebe Neuwirth, Kelli O’Hara, Ben Platt, Jeremy Pope, Chita Rivera, Daphne Rubin-Vega and BD Wong.

But none of the 2020 nominees will be seen or heard from on the CBS show, which kinda stinks. Even though the field of nominees was cut short by the pandemic, they deserved to be acknowledged like every other year. Of course, Warren is leaving “Tina: the Tina Turner Musical” later this fall, but it’s not very encouraging to send her off this way.

Broadway wants us all back, but is this way to do it?

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News