Home Movies Producers Guild Awards Go to “The Big Short,” “Game of Thrones,”...

Upset at the PGA! “The Big Short” won Best Picture. Seems like we have chaos now in the Oscar race. “Spotlight” or “The Revenant” were supposed to win. The PGA winner usually wins the Oscar. Holy moly! Now what? No one has picked “The Big Short” to win the Oscar. Now the race til February 28 is a free for all!
Leah reports:
Michael B. Jordan came on to announce Best Picture. He announced four of the nominees, but not The Big Short. It was a mistake He opened the envelope quickly. Then he turned around to no one the audience could see and he said, “Well I lost the best, The Big Short.” The problem was that the room and the Big Short Table, which was in the back, thought Michael was just announcing it as a nominee, since he didn’t include it in the first place..So there was no reaction, silence, because the room was supposedly waiting for the winner. Then Michael said, “Hey guys, you won, Big Short.” Then the table erupted, but it was confusing and awkward…
PGA got the A list, JJ Abrams, Steven Spielberg, Jeff Skoll, F. Gary Gray, all were in a huddle. They told Gray that that Straight Outta Compton should have gotten a Best Picture from the Academy. F. Gary Gray seemed moved by it.

Other winners:

Best TV Drama Series: “Game of Thrones”

Best Documentary: “Amy”

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy

Transparent (Season 1)
Producers: Jill Soloway, Andrea Sperling, Victor Hsu, Nisha Ganatra, Rick Rosenthal, Bridget Bedard

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (Season 2)
Producers: Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Liz Stanton

Outstanding Producer of Competition Television

The Voice (Seasons 7 and 8)
Producers: Audrey Morrissey, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Marc Jansen, Lee Metzger, Chad Hines, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker, Carson Daly

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

Inside Out
Producer: Jonas Rivera

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst (Season 1)
Producers: Marc Smerling, Andrew Jarecki, Jason Blum

Outstanding Sports Program

Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel

Outstanding Children’s Program

Sesame Street

Outstanding Digital Series

Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television

Fargo (Season 2)
Producers: Noah Hawley, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Warren Littlefield, Kim Todd

Share and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.