Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Forever Young: 92 Year Old Pete Seeger Records Bob Dylan Song


Pete Seeger is 92 and a half years old. Yet he has recorded Bob Dylan’s “Forever Young”  for the upcoming Amnesty International album “Chimes of Freedom.” The album, a four disc set, will be released on January 24, 2012, to benefit the important human rights organization.

There are 80 tracks, with twenty or more from artists that are very unknown. But the big stars are great– Carly Simon, Sting, Joan Baez, Patti Smith, Marianne Faithfull, Jeff Beck with Seal, Elvis Costello, Diana Krall, Paul Rodgers and Nils Lofgren.

Actress Evan Rachel Wood, who sang in Julie Taymor’s “Across the Universe” and almost did in Taymor’s Broadway “Spider Man,” sings a song Dylan wrote with  George Harrison in 1968; it appeared on Harrison’s “All Things Must Pass” album–“I’d Have You Anytime.” Some of the tracks were organized by my old pal, Martin Lewis, who’s been an Amnesty stalwart for a long time and knows his music. I’m particularly keen to hear K’Naan, my new favorite performer, do “With God on Our Side.” I am not so keen to hear Kesha, Miley Cyrus, or Darren Criss from “Glee.” (Concessions to the commercial are wince inducing.)

And where is Bruce Springsteen? That seems like a glaring omission. So are Tony Bennett, Paul McCartney, and Paul Simon.

But the Pete Seeger track should be just thrilling. It balances out the weird ones (aforementioned) and gives us all hope. We can only hope that the Grammy show on February 12th will feature a big segment devoted to this collection (with Kesha, Cyrus, and Criss relegated to the background).


Raphael Saadiq – Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat

Patti Smith – Drifter’s Escape

Rise Against – Ballad of Hollis Brown

Tom Morello The Nightwatchman – Blind Willie McTell

Pete Townshend -Corrina, Corrina

Bettye LaVette – Most of the Time

Charlie Winston -This Wheel’s On Fire

Diana Krall – Simple Twist of Fate

Brett Dennen -You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere

Mariachi El Bronx – Love Sick

Ziggy Marley – Blowin’ in the Wind

The Gaslight Anthem – Changing of the Guards

Silversun Pickups – Not Dark Yet

My Morning Jacket – You’re A Big Girl Now

The Airborne Toxic Event – Boots of Spanish Leather

Sting – Girl from the North Country

Mark Knopfler – Restless Farewell


Queens Of The Stone Age – Outlaw Blues

Lenny Kravitz – Rainy Day Woman # 12 & 35

Steve Earle & Lucia Micarelli – One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below)

Blake Mills – Heart Of Mine

Miley Cyrus – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go

Billy Bragg -Lay Down Your Weary Tune

Elvis Costello -License to Kill

Angelique Kidjo – Lay, Lady, Lay

Natasha Bedingfield – Ring Them Bells

Jackson Browne -Love Minus Zero/No Limit

Joan Baez – Seven Curses (Live)

The Belle Brigade – No Time To Think

Sugarland – Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You (Live)

Jack’s Mannequin – Mr. Tambourine Man

Oren Lavie – 4th Time Around

Sussan Deyhim – All I Really Want To Do

Adele – Make You Feel My Love (Recorded Live at WXPN)


K’NAAN – With God On Our Side

Ximena Sariñana – I Want You

Neil Finn with Pajama Club – She Belongs to Me

Bryan Ferry – Bob Dylan’s Dream

Zee Avi – Tomorrow Is A Long Time

Carly Simon – Just Like a Woman

Flogging Molly – The Times They Are A-Changin’

Fistful Of Mercy – Buckets Of Rain

Joe Perry – Man Of Peace

Bad Religion – It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue

My Chemical Romance – Desolation Row (Live)

RedOne featuring Nabil Khayat – Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door

Paul Rodgers & Nils Lofgren – Abandoned Love

Darren Criss featuring Chuck Criss and Freelance Whales – New Morning

Cage the Elephant – The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll

Band of Skulls – It Ain’t Me, Babe

Sinéad O’Connor – Property of Jesus

Ed Roland and The Sweet Tea Project – Shelter From The Storm

Ke$ha – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

Kronos Quartet – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right


Maroon 5 – I Shall Be Released

Carolina Chocolate Drops – Political World

Seal & Jeff Beck – Like A Rolling Stone

Taj Mahal – Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream

Dierks Bentley – Senor (Tales of Yankee Power) (Live)

Mick Hucknall – One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)

Thea Gilmore – I’ll Remember You

State Radio – John Brown

Dave Matthews Band – All Along the Watchtower (Live)

Michael Franti – Subterranean Homesick Blues

We Are Augustines – Mama, You Been On My Mind

Lucinda Williams – Tryin’ To Get To Heaven

Kris Kristofferson – Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)

Eric Burdon -Gotta Serve Somebody

Evan Rachel Wood – I’d Have You Anytime

Marianne Faithfull – Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Live)

Pete Seeger – Forever Young

Bob Dylan – Chimes Of Freedom


Outernational – When The Ship Comes In

Silverstein -Song To Woody

Daniel Bedingfield – Man In The Long Black Coat


Roger Friedman
Roger Friedmanhttps://www.showbiz411.com
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News