Home Movies Oscars: Apple’s “CODA” Wins Hollywood Critics Award for Best Film. Leaps Ahead...

If “CODA” were a racehorse it would be on its way to the Triple Crown.

Last night Sian Heder’s beautiful film won the Hollywood Critics Association award for Best Film. That’s just a day after winning the Screen Actors Guild Award for Best Ensemble.

“CODA” is shaping up as a potential Oscar winner for Best Picture very quickly now in the last leg of the long race to the Academy Awards.

Ironically, “CODA” comes from Apple, a streaming company. It’s had no presence in theaters. As a streaming studio, Apple has leapt ahead of its competitors like Netflix and Amazon in the quest to become the first streamer to get a Best Picture statue.

This season, Amazon Studios offered Aaron Sorkin’s “Being the Ricardos” as an entry. The film didn’t get a nomination but three of the four lead actors advanced to the Oscar finals. One of them, Nicole Kidman, may yet be pronounced Best Actress.

For Netflix, the stakes are higher. They had a handful of films in the Oscar competition, primarily “The Power of the Dog.” That film’s director, Jane Campion, has long been tipped for Best Director. But last night Campion tied with Denis Villeneuve of “Dune” for Best Director, which means there may be some erosion of Campion’s following.

If Apple does manage to pull off this Best Picture coup with “CODA,” Netflix may have to re-evaluate how their quest is going. Valiant efforts have been made in the recent past with films like “Roma” and “The Irishman,” without achieving the goal of gold.

Netflix can take some solace in Andrew Garfield winning Best Actor for “Tick Tick Boom” last night.

Best Picture – “CODA”

Best Actor – Andrew Garfield, “Tick, Tick … Boom!”

Best Actress – Kristen Stewart, “Spencer”

Best Supporting Actor – Troy Kotsur, “CODA”

Best Supporting Actress – Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story”

Best Cast Ensemble – “Belfast”

Best Director *Tie* – Denis Villeneuve, “Dune” and Jane Campion, “The Power of The Dog”

Best Original Screenplay – Fran Kranz, “Mass”

Best Adapted Screenplay – Siân Heder, “CODA”

Best Animated or VFX Performance – Stephanie Beatriz, “Encanto”

Best Action Film – “The Harder They Fall”

Best Animated Film – “The Mitchells vs. The Machines”

Best Comedy or Musical – “Tick, Tick … Boom!”

Best Documentary – “Summer of Soul”

Best Horror – “Last Night in Soho”

Best Indie Film – “Pig”

Best International Film – “Drive My Car”

Best First Feature – Lin-Manuel Miranda, “Tick, Tick … Boom!”

Best Short Film – “Us Again”

Best Score – Hans Zimmer, “Dune”

Best Original Song – “Be Alive,” “King Richard”

Best Cinematography – Greig Fraser, “Dune”

Best Production Design – Tamara Deverell, “Nightmare Alley”

Best Film Editing – Paul Machliss, “Last Night in Soho”

Best Stunts – “Shang-Chi and The Legend of the Ten Rings”

Best Costume Design – Jenny Beavan, “Cruella”

Best Hair & Makeup – Justin Raleigh, Linda Dowds, and Stephanie Ingram, “The Eyes of Tammy Faye”

Best Visual Effects – Brian Connor, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert, and Tristan Myles, “Dune”


Honorary Awards

Acting Achievement Award – Nicolas Cage

Artisan Achievement Award – Greig Fraser

Artisan on the Rise – Alice Brooks

Excellence in Artistry – Kenneth Branagh

Filmmaker on the Rise – Natalie Morales

Filmmaking Achievement Award – Guillermo del Toro

Game Changer Award – Simu Liu

Inspire Award – Aunjanue Ellis

International Icon Award – Javier Bardem

Newcomer Award – Jude Hill

Spotlight Award – The Cast of “CODA”

Star on the Rise – Saniyya Sidney

Share and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.