Home Movies Oscars: A Flood of Black Actors, Directors Etc Invited to Join Academy...

Loretta Devine has been asked to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She’s one of many non white actors who’ve been invited today, and it’s about time!

The numbers went up 46% among women and 41% among people of color.

Among the directors: Melvin van Peebles. How is it that Melvin van Peebles was never in the Academy? Shocking!

Among the others: America Ferrara, Dennis Haysbert, Chadwick Boseman, John Boyega, Morris Chestnut, Carmen Ejogo, Idris Elba, Vivica A. Fox, Luis Guzman, Ice Cube, Regina King, Michael B, Jordan, Adepero Oduye, Harold Perrineau, Michelle Rodriguez, Anika Noni Rose, Glynn Turman, Marlon Wayans, Damon Wayans Jr., Keenan Ivory Wayans (directors branch), Mahershala Ali, Gabrielle Union and Lorraine Toussaint. Nia Long is in. Freida Pinto — you mean she wasn’t asked right after “Slumdog Millionaire”? Good grief!

It’s freaking amazing to me that some of these names weren’t already in. But here they are and god bless Cheryl Boone Isaacs for pulling this off! And these were just actors. Among directors Ryan Coogler is in, and I’ll add some more names shortly. Keep refreshing.

PS Among the white inductees: Rita Wilson, aka Mrs. Tom Hanks, in movies for 30 years, was never asked before this? And Bruce Greenwood, an MVP every year in countless films, not til now? Weird!

Congratulations to everyone!

Share and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.