Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Sting Gets Classy, Snazzy Box Set for 25th Solo Anniversary


Believe it or not, Sting is celebrating 25 years as a solo artist this fall. While his original run as leader of The Police lasted just a few years, his solo career has been more than four times longer. Manager Kathy Schenker and producer Rob Mathes have assembled an amazing collection of four discs–three of his best studio work and one devoted to live performances called “Rough, Raw and Unreleased.” The DVD comes from Sting’s 2005 show at Irving Plaza in New York, and has never before been issued. The package arrives on September 27th, right before Sting’s 60th birthday on October 2nd. (Yes, he actually looks like that at 60. Grrrr.)  There’s also rumors of some kind of celebration tied to the birthday that should be quite memorable. And there’s also rumblings that work has progressed significantly on the Sting musical, loosely based on his album, “The Soul Cages” and written with “Next to Normal” Pulitzer Prize winner Brian Yorkey.

Here’s the track listing for “Sting: 25 Years.” All the tracks are beautifully remixed for state of the art sound:

Disc One:
1.    If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
2.    Love Is The Seventh Wave
3.    Consider Me Gone
4.    Moon Over Bourbon Street
5.    Fortress Around Your Heart
6.    Bring On The Night (Live)
7.    Driven To Tears (Live)
8.    I Burn For You (Live)
9.    Be Still My Beating Heart
10.    They Dance Alone
11.    Englishman In New York
12.    Fragile
13.    We’ll Be Together
14.    Sister Moon
15.    Secret Marriage

Disc Two:
1.    All This Time
2.    Mad About You
3.    Why Should I Cry For You?
4.    The Soul Cages
5.    When The Angels Fall
6.    If I Ever Lose My Faith In You
7.    Fields Of Gold
8.    Seven Days
9.    It’s Probably Me
10.    Shape Of My Heart
11.    When We Dance
12.    I Hung My Head
13.    I Was Brought To My Senses
14.    You Still Touch Me
15.    I’m So Happy I Can’t Stop Crying

Disc Three:
1.    A Thousand Years
2.    Desert Rose
3.    Ghost Story
4.    Brand New Day
5.    Send Your Love
6.    Whenever I Say Your Name
7.    Stolen Car (Take Me Dancing)
8.    Soul Cake
9.    The Hounds Of Winter
10.    Next To You
11.    We Work The Black Seam
12.    The Pirate’s Bride
13.    Never Coming Home
14.    Russians (Live)
15.    The End Of The Game (Live)

Disc Four: Rough, Raw & Unreleased: Live at Irving Plaza
1.    Message In A Bottle
2.    Demolition Man
3.    Synchronicity II
4.    Driven To Tears
5.    Heavy Cloud, No Rain
6.    A Day In The Life
7.    Voices Inside My Head/When The World Is Running Down
8.    Roxanne
9.    Next To You
10.    Lithium Sunset

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedmanhttps://www.showbiz411.com
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News