Monday, April 22, 2024

Oscars News: Casting Award Coming in 2025, Jimmy Kimmel’s Writers Announced for March 10th


Lots of news as the Oscars approach on March 10th on ABC.

For next year in 2025 — not this one — a Best Casting Director will be added. It’s about time! The casting directors are the beating heart of movies. Maybe next will come something for Stunts. But this is good news!

For this year’s show, Jimmy Kimmel’s writing staff has been announced including Kimmel himself and the great Carol Leifer.

Writers for this year’s show include Jamie Abrahams, Rory Albanese, Amberia Allen, Tony Barbieri, Jonathan Bines, Joelle Boucai, Bryan Cook, Blaire Erskine, Devin Field, Gary Greenberg, Josh Halloway, Eric Immerman, Jesse Joyce, Jon Macks, Mitch Marchand, Greg Martin, Jesse McLaren, Molly McNearney, Keaton Patti, Danny Ricker, Louis Virtel and Troy Walker.

The amazing Rickey Minor returns as Musical Director after doing such a terrific job at Clive Davis’s Grammy gala.

Rob Paine returns as co-executive producer, and Taryn Hurd returns as talent producer. Producers Sarah Levine Hall, Erin Irwin and Jennifer Sharron, plus lighting designers Bob Dickinson and Noah Mitz also rejoin the team.

Executive producer and showrunner Raj Kapoor and executive producers are Molly McNearney and Katy Mullan. As previously announced, the show’s production team also includes director Hamish Hamilton and production designers Misty Buckley and Alana Billingsley.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News