Monday, April 15, 2024

Sundance Film Fest Announces Low-Profile Juries for This Year’s Competition, Shying Away from Celebrity


Looks like Sundance is shying away from celebrity this year and keeping the festival more low key.

The Festival has named its juries for this year’s outing and there aren’t many recognizable names other than Mira Nair and Lena Waithe.

Regardless, Sundance has a line up full of indie actors and directors ready to show their wares in just a couple of weeks.

The 2024 Sundance Film Festival jury includes: Debra Granik, Adrian Tomine, and Lena Waithe for U.S. Dramatic Competition; Shane Boris, Nicole Newnham, and Rudy Valdez for U.S. Documentary Competition; Jennifer Kent, Mira Nair, and Rui Poças for World Cinema Dramatic Competition; Mandy Chang, Monica Hellström, and Shaunak Sen for World Cinema Documentary Competition; Christina Oh, Danny Pudi, and Charlotte Regan for Short Film Program Competition; and Zal Batmanglij for the NEXT competition section.

The jury for the Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize deliberated ahead of the Festival and awarded the prize to Love Me, directed by Sam and Andy Zuchero. The jury, which includes both film and science professionals, presents the award to an outstanding feature film focusing on science or technology as a theme, or depicting a scientist, engineer or mathematician as a major character. This jury includes: Dr. Mandë Holford, Dr. Nia Imara, Matt Johnson, Theresa Park, and Courtney Stephens

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News