Tuesday, May 21, 2024

American Actors Brie Larson and Paul Dano Will Represent the US in Eclectic Cannes Jury for 2023


The Jury for the 2023 Cannes Palme d’Or is eclectic as usual.

Led by “Triangle of Sadness” Ruben Ostlund this year’s jury features Moroccan director Maryam Touzani, French actor Denis Ménochet, British-Zambian screenwriter & director Rungano Nyoni, American actress & director Brie Larson, American actor Paul Dano, Afghan author Atiq Rahimi, Argentinian director & screenwriter Damián Szifrón and French director Julia Ducournau who won the top prize in 2021.

Larson and Dano will represent the US. Larson is an Oscar winner and Dano is a multiple nominee.

The Palme d’Or and other awards chosen by this jury will be presented at the closing ceremony on May 27th. It will be followed by the Festival’s final screening: Elemental, Disney and Pixar’s animated film by Peter Sohn.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedmanhttps://www.showbiz411.com
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News