Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Critics Choice Awards Outgun Globes with Big Name Presenters Including Michelle Pfeiffer, Kate Hudson, Miles Teller, Kerry Washington


The tiding is turning.

After that anemic list of presenters from the Golden Globes this week, the Critics Choice Awards — January 15th on the CW Network — have outgunned them with celebrities.

Big names include Michelle Pfeiffer, who will take the stage to honor Jeff Bridges with the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Kate Hudson will present the SeeHer Award to Janelle MonĂ¡e.

Additional presenters include Benjamin Bratt, Quinta Brunson, Cedric the Entertainer, Misha Collins, Claire Danes, Phoebe Dynevor, Ayo Edebiri, Eve Hewson, Jude Hill, Tyler Hoechlin, Sharon Horgan, Sarah Hyland, Troy Kotsur, Diego Luna, Natasha Lyonne, Ebon Moss-Bachrach, Aubrey Plaza, Jean Smart, Anya Taylor-Joy, Miles Teller, Elizabeth Tulloch, Kerry Washington, Jeremy Allen White, and more.

The public feeling about the Globes is palpable. There dozens of articles asking why they’re back at all. Meantime, even BAFTA — the British Academy — has moved its all star afternoon tea to the day before the CCAs instead of the Globes. That’s a big deal. And the American Film Institute has moved its nominees lunch also to the CCA weekend, bypassing association with the Globes.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedmanhttps://www.showbiz411.com
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News