Saturday, June 15, 2024

DC: Nancy Pelosi Honors Clive Davis with Lincoln Medal at Ford’s Theater, Phylicia Rashad Salutes Congressman James E. Clyburn


The news arrives slowly from Washington DC but when it does, it’s big!

Over last weekend, the amazing Speaker of the House (and preserver of our lives) Nancy Pelosi presented music industry legend Clive Davis with the Lincoln Medal at Ford’s Theater. Phylicia Rashad honored the great South Carolina congressman James E. Clyburn.

The presentation was part of a star studded night in which was attended by Senators John Hickenlooper, Edward Markey, Robert Portman, James Risch; The Honorable Susan E. Rice; Representatives Emanuel Cleaver II, James E. Clyburn, Debbie Dingell, Edward Markey, Ro Khanna and Michael R. Turner; The Honorable Elaine L. Chao; Ambassador Shaikh Salem Al-Jaber Al-Sabah.

The Lincoln Medal, first bestowed in 1981 to Senator Milton R. Young, is an annual award given by the Ford’s Theatre Society to a person or persons who, through their body of work, accomplishments or personal attributes, exemplify the lasting legacy and mettle of character embodied by the most beloved president in our nation’s history, President Abraham Lincoln.

The evening had great musical performances, of course, by Deborah Cox, who saluted Clive with a medley of Whitney Houston songs including a “I Will Always Love You” and “I Wanna Dance with Somebody.” Also on the bill, Tony winner Rashad performed “Oh What a Beautiful Morning” from “Oklahoma!”

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News