Sunday, April 21, 2024

Daytime Emmys Shocker: Last Year’s Winner, “The View,” Gets Nothing For the Show or Hosts First Time Since 1998


Barbara Walters must be livid.

So, too, should be the producers of “The View” and the hosts. For the first time in the show’s history, since 1998, the Daytime Emmy Awards gave them no nominations for the show or hosts.

Every single year the show has gotten nominated for Best Talk Show and Best Talk Show Hosts. But this year, nothing.

Last year, “The View” won Best Informative Talk Show.

Of course, the Daytime Emmys are on CBS. “The View” is on ABC.

“The View” isn’t the only panel show not to get any love from the Daytime Emmys. CBS’s “The Talk,” which has had a wild year, got nothing. Neither did the syndicated show, “The Real.”

An observer points out the Daytime Emmy noms are usually read on “The Talk.” But this year because “The Talk” got nothing, the nominations were announced on Twitter.

Last year, “The View” had 8 nominations. This year they received just 1, for sound mixing.

I can understand the situation with “The Talk,” which jettisoned Sharon Osbourne and had to take a break. But their discussion of race was lively and deserved something.

“The View” is a powerhouse. I can’t live without Whoopi, Joy, Sunny, although Meghan McCain is another story. Still, they are the best informative talk show on TV. To snub them seems quite insane, frankly.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News