Friday, April 19, 2024

“Nomadland” Takes PGA Award, Plus “The Crown,” “Queen’s Gambit,” “Schitt’s Creek,” “RuPaul,” “Octopus,” John Oliver, “Hamilton”


“Nomadland” wins the Producers Guild award. On to the Oscars!

keep refreshing…”The Crown” Best Drama…”Schitt’s Creek” wins Best Comedy…RuPaul’s Drag Race Best Game/Competition Show..Documentary: “My Octopus Teacher”…Animated: “Soul”…”Hamilton”…”The Queen’s Gambit”…

The PGA– not a golf group — is giving out its awards tonight. Interestingly, some of their nominees for best picture did not overlap with the Oscars. So we’ll see how they roll, often an indicator of the Academy Awards. The show is well produced EXCEPT they couldn’t spell Steven Yeun’s name right, nor Irrfan Khan…

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

  • Borat Subsequent Moviefilm” (Amazon Studios)
    Producers: Sacha Baron Cohen, Monica Levinson, Anthony Hines
  • Judas and the Black Messiah” (Warner Bros)
    Producers: Charles D. King, Ryan Coogler, Shaka King
  • Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix)
    Producers: Denzel Washington, Todd Black
  • Mank” (Netflix)
    Producers: Ceán Chaffin, Eric Roth, Douglas Urbanski
  • Minari” (A24)
    Producer: Christina Oh
  • Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures)
    Producers: Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Chloé Zhao
  • One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)
    Producers: Jess Wu Calder, Keith Calder, Jody Klein
  • Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)
    Producers: Josey McNamara, Ben Browning, Ashley Fox, Emerald Fennell
  • Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios)
    Producers: Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche
  • The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix)
    Producers: Marc Platt, Stuart Besser

Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

  • The Croods: A New Age” (DreamWorks Animation)
    Producer: Mark Swift
  • Onward” (Pixar)
    Producer: Kori Rae
  • Over the Moon” (Netflix)
    Producers: Gennie Rim, Peilin Chou
  • “Soul” (Pixar)
    Producer: Dana Murray
  • Wolfwalkers” (Apple TV Plus/GKIDS)
  • Producers: Paul Young, Nora Twomey, Tomm Moore, Stéphan Roelants

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television

  • Better Call Saul” (AMC) – Season 5
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • Bridgerton” – (Netflix) – Season 1
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • “The Crown” (Netflix) – Season 4
    Producers: Peter Morgan, Suzanne Mackie, Stephen Daldry, Andy Harries, Benjamin Caron, Matthew Byam Shaw, Robert Fox, Michael Casey, Andy Stebbing, Martin Harrison, Oona O’Beirn
  • The Mandalorian” (Disney Plus) – Season 2
    Producers: Jon Favreau, Dave Filoni, Kathleen Kennedy, Colin Wilson, Karen Gilchrist, John Bartnicki, Carrie Beck
  • Ozark” (Netflix) – Season 3
    Producers: Jason Bateman, Chris Mundy, Bill Dubuque, Mark Williams, Patrick Markey, John Shiban, Miki Johnson, Matthew Spiegel, Erin Mitchell, Martin Zimmerman, Peter Thorell

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television – Comedy

  • Curb Your Enthusiasm” (HBO) – Season 10
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • The Flight Attendant” (HBO Max) – Season 1
    Producers: Greg Berlanti, Kaley Cuoco, Steve Yockey, Meredith Lavender, Marcie Ullin, Sarah Schechter, Suzanne McCormack, Jess Meyer, Raymond Quinlan, Jennifer Lence, Erika Kennair
  • “Schitt’s Creek” (Pop TV) – Season 6
    Producers: Eugene Levy, Daniel Levy, Andrew Barnsley, Fred Levy, David West Read, Ben Feigin, Michael Short, Kurt Smeaton, Kosta Orfanidis
  • Ted Lasso” (Apple TV Plus) – Season 1
    Producers: Bill Lawrence, Jason Sudeikis, Jeff Ingold, Bill Wrubel, Liza Katzer, Jane Becker, Jamie Lee, Kip Kroeger, Brendan Hunt, Tina Pawlik, Joe Kelly
  • What We Do in the Shadows” (FX) – Season 2
    Producers: Jemaine Clement, Taika Waititi, Paul Simms, Scott Rudin, Garrett Basch, Eli Bush, Stefani Robinson, Sam Johnson, Marika Sawyer, Derek S. Rappaport

David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited Series Television

  • I May Destroy You” (HBO)
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • Normal People” (Hulu)
    Producers: Lenny Abrahamson, Sally Rooney, Ed Guiney, Andrew Lowe, Emma Norton, Anna Ferguson, Catherine Magee
  • “The Queen’s Gambit” (Netflix)
    Producers: William Horberg, Allan Scott, Scott Frank, Marcus Loges, Mick Aniceto
  • The Undoing” (HBO)
    Producers: Susanne Bier, David E. Kelley, Per Saari, Nicole Kidman, Bruna Papandrea, Stephen Garrett, Celia Costas, Deb Dyer
  • Unorthodox” (Netflix)
    Producers: Anna Winger, Henning Kamm, Alexa Karolinksi

Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures

  • Bad Education” (HBO)
    Producers: Fred Berger, Eddie Vaisman
  • Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • Hamilton” (Disney Plus)
    Producers: Thomas Kail, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Jeffrey Seller
  • Jane Goodall: The Hope
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • What the Constitution Means To Me
    Producers: eligibility determination pending

Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

  • 60 Minutes” (CBS) – Season 53
    Producer: Bill Owens
  • “The Last Dance” (ESPN) – Season 1
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • Laurel Canyon” (EPIX)
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • McMillion$” (HBO) – Season 1
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • Tiger King: Murder, Mayhem and Madness” (Netflix)
    Producers: eligibility determination pending

Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

  • 8:46 – Dave Chappelle (Special)” (Netflix)
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • The Daily Show with Trevor Noah” (Comedy Central) – Season 26
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (HBO) – Season 7
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” (CBS) – Season 6
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • Saturday Night Live” (NBC) – Season 46
    Producers: eligibility determination pending

Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television

  • The Amazing Race” (CBS) – Season 32
    Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo, Phil Keoghan
  • The Masked Singer” (FOX) – Season 3, Season 4
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • Nailed It!” (Netflix) – Season 4
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • RuPaul’s Drag Race” ( (Season 12)
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
  • The Voice” (NBC) – Season 18, Season 19
    Producers: eligibility determination pending
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News