Sunday, May 19, 2024

Sundance: $25 Mil Record Setting “CODA” Wins Grand Jury Prize and Special Jury Prize, Clifton Collins Jr. Best Actor in “Jockey,” Questlove Wins Best Documentary


The Sundance 2021 Film Festival Awards are being handed out right now.

I’m thrilled to report that “CODA” won the Special Jury Award for Best Film, and Clifton Collins Jr won Best Actor in the Special Jury Section. Apple paid $25 million for “CODA.” Sony Pictures Classics wisely scooped up “Jockey,” a film with huge potential. Congrats to Cliff Collins who has worked as a journeyman actor and now sees the fruits of his labors.

U.S. Grand Jury Prize – Dramatic


U.S. Grand Jury Prize – Documentary

Summer of Soul, dir. Ahmir ‘Questlove’ Thompson

Directing Award – U.S. Dramatic
Coda, dir. Siân Heder

U.S. Grand Jury Prize – Dramatic

U.S. Grand Jury Prize – Documentary
Summer of Soul, dir. Ahmir ‘Questlove’ Thompson

Directing Award – U.S. Dramatic
Coda, dir. Siân Heder

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: U.S. Dramatic
On The Count of Three, Ari Katcher and Ryan Welch

Directing Award: U.S. Documentary
Natalia Almada, Users

Editing Award: U.S. Documentary
Jonathan Oppenheim Editing Award goes to Kristina Motwani and Rebecca Adorno for Homeroom

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Awards
Ensemble Cast – the cast of Coda
Best Actor – Clifton Collins, Jr. for Jockey

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Awards
Special Jury Award for Emerging Filmmaker goes to Parker Hill and Isabel Bethencourt for Cusp
For Nonfiction Experimentation – All Light, Everywhere, dir. Theo Anthony

World Cinema Audience Awards
Documentary – Writing With Fire, dir.
Dramatic – Hive, dir. Blerta Basholli
Yllka Gashi appears in Hive by Blerta Basholli. Sundance

World Cinema Dramatic
World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Hive, dir Blerta Basholli,
Jury Award for Acting goes to Jesmark Scicluna in Luzzu.
Special Jury Award for Creative Vision: One for the Road, dir. Baz Poonpiriya
Directing Award: Hive, dir Blerta Basholli.

World Cinema Jury Prize – Flee, Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Directing Award: Hogir Hirori for Sabaya
Special Jury Award in Impact for Change — Writing With Fire, dir. Rintu Thomas
Special Jury Award in Verite Filmmaking —President, dir. Camilla Nielsson


Audience Award – Ma Belle, My Beauty, dir. Marion Hill

Innovator Award – Cryptozoo, dir. Dash Shaw

Short Film

–Short Film Grand Jury Prize – Lizard, dir. Akinola Davies, Jr.

–Short Film Jury Award – U.S. Fiction – The Touch of the Master’s Hands, dir. Gregory Barnes

–Special Short Film Acting Award, Wiggle Room, Deanna Gibson

–Short Film Special Jury Award – Screenwriting, The Criminals, dir. Serhat Karasslan

–Short Film Special Jury Award, Animation – Souvenir Souvenir, dir. Bastien Dubois

–Short Film Jury Award Nonfiction – Don’t Go Tellin’ Your Momma, dir. Topaz Jones and Rubberband

–Short Film Jury Award – International Fiction – Bambirak, dir. Zamarin Wahdat

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Feature Film Prize
Sons of Monarch, dir. Alexis Gambis

Sundance Institute / Adobe Mentorship Award for Editing
–Fiction, Terilyn Shropshire
–Nonfiction, Juli Vizza

Amazon Studios Producers Award for Nonfiction:
Philly D.A., dir. Nicole Salazar

Sundance Institute NHK Award
Motherhood, dir. Meryam Joobeur

Gayle Stevens Volunteer Award
Rebecca Stover

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News