Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Barry Gibb’s New Album Features Olivia Newton-John Duet Plus Sheryl Crow, Dolly Parton, Little Big Town, Country Stars


Barry Gibb is going to be in the news a lot soon. A documentary about the Bee Gees debuts on Showtime on December 12th, produced by Frank Marshall. I’m looking forward to seeing it some time.

Today comes the news of a new album of Bee Gees hits recorded by Barry with country and pop stars. For some reason it’s called “Greenfields” and it has a cover that must be changed immediately. It looks like something from a funeral home. I don’t know what the art department is thinking at Universal Music.

But the album itself looks terrific. The featured guest stars are Alison Krauss, Brandi Carlile, David Rawlings, Dolly Parton, Gillian Welch, Jason Isbell, Jay Buchanan, Keith Urban, Little Big Town, Miranda Lambert, Olivia Newton-John, Sheryl Crow and Tommy Emmanuel.

Olivia Newton-John? When she started her career, Olivia was a country artist. I’m not sure but I don’t think she’s sung in a long time. So that’s pretty cool.

The first track available is “Words of a Fool,” featuring Grammy Award-winning Jason Isbell. The album hits on January 8th. So there’s plenty of time to change that cover art!

Barry says in a press release: “From the first day we stepped into RCA Studios in Nashville (the very place where Elvis, Willie, Waylon, Roy, the Everly Brothers and so many other legends made their magic) the album took on a life of its own. I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity to work with Dave and all the artists who stopped by. They were all incredibly generous with their time and talent. They inspired me more than words can express. I feel deep down that Maurice and Robin would have loved this album for different reasons. I wish we could have all been together to do it…but I think we were.”

But what the heck is that cover? Is Barry dead? Is this his repast dinner? This has a zero coolness factor. It should be like an old country western poster with all the artists’ names. And Greenfields? That’s a title? How about “Country Fever”?


Here’s the tracklist:

 1. “I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You” with Keith Urban
  2. “Words of a Fool” with Jason Isbell
  3. “Run to Me” with Brandi Carlile
  4. “Too Much Heaven” with Alison Krauss
  5. “Lonely Days” with Little Big Town
  6. “Words” with Dolly Parton
  7. “Jive Talkin’” with Miranda Lambert, Jay Buchanan
  8. “How Deep Is Your Love” with Tommy Emanuel, Little Big Town
  9. “How Can You Mend A Broken Heart” with Sheryl Crow
  10. “To Love Somebody” with Jay Buchanan
  11. “Rest Your Love On Me” with Olivia Newton-John
  12. “Butterfly” with Gillian Welch, David Rawlings

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News