Friday, April 12, 2024

CBS Broadcasts the Daytime Emmys for First Time in Years and Coincidentally Wins Lions Share of Awards


For many years now, the Daytime Emmy Awards had no broadcast home. They went off the air entirely, then were just streamed. This year, CBS suddenly picked them up again– lack of programming because of COVID–and put them on last night with the winners already knowing the outcome and filming advance acceptance speeches.

By coincidence, CBS won the lions share of the awards. “The Young and the Restless” picked up Best Drama, Best Actor, and Supporting Actor. “The Bold and the Beautiful” got Best Writing and Best Actress.

Alas, CBS’s afternoon talk show, “The Talk,” lost to ABC’s “The View.” And “The Today Show” beat “CBS This Morning.” But CBS got a lot of good PR from the whole thing. They won 15 Awards vs. 5 for ABC and 4 for NBC. I guess they’ll do the show again next year!

One nice touch: Kevin Frazier, host of “Entertainment Tonight” thanked long time former co-host Mary Hart when he accepted the show’s award. I hope she’s well. But it was a classy touch. Also, Alex Trebek accepted his award via video. God bless him. He’s still going! I’ll take “Legends” for a thousand.

Winners In Categories Announced On CBS Broadcast:

Outstanding Drama Series
WINNER: “The Young and the Restless”
“General Hospital”
“Days of Our Lives”
“The Bold and the Beautiful”

Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actress in a Drama Series
WINNER: Heather Tom, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Katherine Kelly Lang, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Maura West, “General Hospital”
Ariane Zucker, “Days of Our Lives”
Finola Hughes, “General Hospital”

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
WINNER: Tamara Braun, “General Hospital”
Christel Khalil, “The Young and the Restless”
Annika Noellee, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Rebecca Budig, “General Hospital”
Susan Seaforth Hayes, “Days of Our Lives”

Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actor in a Drama Series
WINNER: Jason Thompson, “The Young and the Restless”
Steve Burton, “General Hospital”
Jon Lindstrom, “General Hospital”
Thorsten Kaye, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Thaao Penghlis, “Days of Our Lives”

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
WINNER: Bryton James, “The Young and the Restless”
Chandler Massey, “Days of Our Lives”
Wally Kurth, “Days of Our Lives”
Mark Grossman, “The Young and the Restless”
Paul Telfer, “Days of Our Lives”
James Patrick Stuart, “General Hospital”

Outstanding Entertainment News Show
WINNER: “Entertainment Tonight”
“Access Hollywood”
“Inside Edition”
“E! News”

Outstanding Writing Team for a Drama Series
WINNER: “The Bold and the Beautiful”
“The Young and the Restless”
“General Hospital”
“Days of Our Lives”

Outstanding Digital Drama Series
WINNER: “The Bay”
“After Forever”
“Studio City”

Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Host
WINNER: Kelly Clarkson, “The Kelly Clarkson Show”
Sara Gilbert, Sharon Osborne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba, Marie Osmond, “The Talk”
Kelly Ripa and Ryan Seacrest, “Live with Kelly and Ryan”
Michael Strahan, Sara Haines, Keke Palmer, “GMA3”
Maury Povich, “Maury”

Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show
WINNER: “The Ellen DeGeneres Show”
“The Talk”
“The Kelly Clarkson Show”
“Live with Kelly and Ryan”
“GMA3: Strahan, Sara and Keke”

Outstanding Younger Performer
WINNER: Olivia Rose Keegan, “Days of Our Lives”
Sasha Calle, “The Young and the Restless”
Eden McCoy, “General Hospital”
Thia Megia, “Days of Our Lives”
Katelyn MacMullen, “General Hospital”

Outstanding Informative Talk Show
WINNER: “The View”
“Rachael Ray”
“Red Table Talk”
“Today Show with Hoda and Jenna”
“The 3rd Hour of Today”

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News