Home Movies Honorary Oscars to Cicely Tyson, “Mission Impossible” Composer, And a Spielberg Trio:...

Sometimes the Academy gets it right.

The Lifetime Achievement Oscars, known as the Governor’s Awards, been announced and they are very, very good.

Legendary actress Cicely Tyson, 91, who continues to amaze, is top of the list.

Composer Lalo Schifrin, the man who gave us the “Mission Impossible” music and dozens of other scores, is next.

And then will come a trio very associated with Steven Spielberg. Kathleen Kennedy — now head of LucasFilm– and Frank Marshall, whose credits are a resume of the best films since 1976– will get the Irving Thalberg Award. Start clapping now. Their clip reels will take two days.

Joining this group is our dear pal Marvin Levy, Spielberg’s publicist since “Close Encounters.” He’s the first publicist to receive an honorary Oscar, and it’s much deserved. Marvin– who worked on all the Amblin, Dreamworks, etc movies, many of which Kennedy and Marshall produced– is beloved.

Nicely done, governors.

Share and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.