Home business Jerry Seinfeld’s “Comedians in Cars” wins PGA, So Does “Birdman”

This is a late posting but just in case you missed it: “Birdman” won the Producers Guild Award last night in L.A. I don’t know why. It all took place either in the St. James Theater on Broadway or on a sound stage. Maybe it was the flying. “Boyhood” was all about the producing– that Josh Sapan and Jonathan Sehring had the imagination and foresight over 12 years to make it.

Anyway: Jerry Seinfeld’s “Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee” won the digital award. Nice.


The 2015 Producers Guild nominated films and television programs are listed below in alphabetical order by category, along with producers. The producers’ names for each nominated production are listed in alphabetical order and are not necessarily the proper order of credits. The winners are indicated in bold and with an asterisk (*).

The theatrical motion picture winners are:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Ø Birdman (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Producers: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, James W. Skotchdopole

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Ø The LEGO Movie (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Producer: Dan Lin, p.g.a.

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:

Ø Life Itself (Magnolia Pictures)

Producers: Garrett Basch, Steve James, Zak Piper

The television winners are:

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:

The Long-Form Television category encompasses both movies of the week and mini-series.

Ø Fargo (FX)

Producers: Adam Bernstein, John Cameron, Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Michael Frislev, Noah Hawley, Warren Littlefield, Chad Oakes, Kim Todd

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:

Ø Breaking Bad (AMC)

Producers: Melissa Bernstein, Sam Catlin, Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Mark Johnson, Stewart Lyons, Michelle MacLaren, George Mastras, Diane Mercer, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:

Ø Orange Is The New Black (Netflix)

Producers: Mark A. Burley, Sara Hess, Jenji Kohan, Gary Lennon, Neri Tannenbaum, Michael Trim, Lisa I. Vinnecour

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

Ø COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey (FOX/NatGeo)
Producers: Brannon Braga, Mitchell Cannold, Jason Clark, Ann Druyan, Livia Hanich, Steve Holtzman, Seth MacFarlane

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

Ø The Voice (NBC)

Producers: Stijn Bakkers, Mark Burnett, John De Mol, Chad Hines, Lee Metzger, Audrey Morrissey, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:

Ø The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon (NBC)

Producers: Rob Crabbe, Jamie Granet Bederman, Katie Hockmeyer, Jim Juvonen, Josh Lieb, Brian McDonald, Lorne Michaels, Gavin Purcell

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program:

Ø Real Sports With Bryant Gumbel (HBO)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program:

Ø Sesame Street (PBS)

The digital winner is:

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series:

Ø Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee (http://www.crackle.com/c/comedians-in-cars-getting-coffee)

Share and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.