Thursday, July 18, 2024

Grammy Lifetime Achievement Awards Going to Gladys Knight, Tammy Wynette, Laurie Anderson, Clark Sisters and NWA


The Grammys have announced their Lifetime Achievement and Special Merit Awards.

The awards are handed out on February 3rd in a special ceremony at the Wilshire Ebell Theater, right before Clive Davis’s bash at the Beverly Hilton.

Laurie Anderson, the Clark Sisters, Gladys Knight, N.W.A, Donna Summer, and Tammy Wynette are the 2024 Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award honorees; Peter Asher, DJ Kool Herc and Joel Katz are the Trustees Award recipients; Tom Kobayashi and Tom Scott are the Technical GRAMMY Award honorees; and “Refugee,” written by K’naan, Steve McEwan, and Gerald Eaton (a.k.a. Jarvis Church), is being honored with the Best Song For Social Change Award.

All the ladies are totally deserving and have waited a long time. NWA was a cutting edge hip hop group of great influence to future generations. Members included Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, and Ice Cube. I’m also very happy to see the names of Asher and Katz in the line up. Peter Asher was part of the 60s singing duo Peter and Gordon. But Peter was also the head of the Beatles’ Apple Records, found James Taylor and Badfinger, then managed and produced James Taylor and Linda Ronstadt with all their hit records of the 70s.

Joel Katz has been the lawyer for the Grammys for decades, and also represented half of the artists in the industry out of his Atlanta office. He is beloved by everyone he’s worked with and deserves the accolades for dealing with a lot of big personalities over the years.

Grammy weekend is shaping up pretty nicely, with Jon Bon Jovi receiving the Musicares Person of the Year Award on February 2nd, and then, of course the Big Show on Sunday, February 4th on CBS.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News