Monday, May 20, 2024

Directors of “Everything Everywhere All at Once” Win the DGA Award, Set Sights on Oscars


The Directors Guild has spoken.

Winner of the 2023 DGA Award for Feature Films are Daniel Scheinert and Danuel Kwan, aka “The Daniels,” for “Everything Everywhere All at Once.”

This traditionally points to the Oscar at least for Best Direction, if not Best Picture. The Academy voters may split their votes and give the Daniels the directing award and another film Best Picture. But this dye was cast a long time ago.

Other DGA awards went to Bill Hader for “Barry” and Sam Levinson for “Euphoria” — meaning an HBO sweep for TV. Charlotte Wells won for first time feature for “Aftersun.” TV Awards went to the Tony Awards, and “Saturday Night Live.”

Best documentary directing went to “Fire of Love” from National Geographic.

Do I agree with the big award? Well, “EEAAO” is fresh and unusual, full of vibrant images and ideas. Did it move me like “The Fabelmans” did? Or “Tar”? No. I think a lot of Academy voters are confused by it. But you can’t deny its originality and exuberance.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News