Home Movies NY Film Critics Circle Go for “First Cow,” Delroy Lindo, Put Chadwick...

It’s an indie mix for the New York Film Critics Circle. They gave Best Director to Chloe Zhao for “Nomadland” but didn’t give that film Best Picture or Best Actress. They milked the little seen “First Cow” and gave it Best Picture instead. They put Chadwick Boseman in supporting when he was the lead of “Ma Rainey,” and gave Best Actress to Sidney Flanigan in “Never Rarely Sometimes Always.” OK, why not? Best Supporting Actress went to Maria Bakalova for “Borat 2” which is a creative idea. “Time,” an excellent documentary, won that category. “Time” is on Amazon Plus, so you have no excuse for not seeing it.

Best Film: First Cow

Best Director: Chloé Zhao for Nomadland

Best First Film: The 40-Year-Old Version

Best Actor: Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods

Best Actress: Sidney Flanigan for Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best Supporting Actor: Chadwick Boseman for Da 5 Bloods

Best Supporting Actress: Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Best Screenplay: Eliza Hittman for Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best Cinematography: Small Axe (all films)

Best Foreign Language Film: Bacurau (Brazil)

Best Non-Fiction Film: Garrett Bradley’s Time

Best Animated Film: Wolfwalkers (Apple)

Special Awards: Kino Lorber, for their creation of Kino Marquee, a virtual cinema distribution service that was designed to help support movie theaters, not destroy them. Spike Lee for inspiring the New York community with his short film “New York New York” and for advocating for a better society through cinema.

Share and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.