Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Rock Hall of Fame Ignores Popular Vote (Except for Doobie Brothers), Snubs Dave Matthews’s 1 Million Votes, Pat Benatar’s 800K, for Whitney, T Rex, Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, Biggie Smalls


Only one of the top 3 vote-getters in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s public voting will be inducted this year: the Doobie Brothers.

The top 2 — Pat Benatar and the Dave Matthews Band– have been ignored.

The other four who made it are Whitney Houston, T Rex, Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode and the Notorious Biggie Smalls, aka Christopher Wallace.

Three of those inductees are dead: Whitney, Marc Bolan of T Rex, and Wallace.

So why did the RRHOF have a public vote simply to ignore it? Good question. The answer is, they don’t care what the public thinks, and never did.

Not inducted: lots of people who should have been.

The whole thing stinks. Not only should Matthews and Benatar have made it in, but the Hall owed it to older groups or acts that are alive now and can benefit from the induction. I’m thinking of Chaka Khan, who’s far more Rock and Roll than Whitney, and the MC5, which has waited and waited.

But back to that fan vote: Dave Matthews received 1 MILLION votes. Benatar garnered 882 thousand! And they were simply rebuffed. If I’d voted in good faith on the Rock Hall’s site, I’d be pissed. If you did vote on the site, and are angry, you can sound off on our poll.

What idiots these people are.


Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News