Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Aretha Franklin Receives a Rare Posthumous Pulitzer Prize for Five Decades of Accomplishments in the Arts


I nearly burst into tears this afternoon when Dana Canedy announced this year’s Pulitzer Prizes.

Aretha Franklin, who passed on August 16th, received a rare posthumous Pulitzer for five decades of accomplishments in the arts. The dedication reads: “For her indelible contribution to American music and culture for more than five decades.”

This is just a huge honor. I spoke to Canedy, who said she was just sorry they hadn’t given to Aretha when she was alive. No matter. Aretha is singing and giving thanks from Heaven. All her friends and family are so proud of her. Simply amazing.

Previous special citation winners include John Coltrane, Hank Williams, Ray Bradbury, Duke Ellington, and George Gershwin. Bob Dylan won it, alive and kicking, in 2010.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News