Home awards Robert De Niro Leads List of 2019 Hollywood Walk of Fame Honorees...

The Hollywood Walk of Fame is going to be a little crowded next year. The Chamber of Commerce announced today will be getting stars. Someone has to pay for the star. Sometimes it’s the studio or a producer touting a film, or a record company pitching in for an artist, or a benefactor.

Next year, for example, Daniel Craig will get a star–it may be part of his deal for the new James Bond movie. Robert De Niro is the biggest name on next year’s list. Alan Arkin– long overdue–maybe has a benefactor.

Here are the categories:
Movies— Alan Arkin, Kristen Bell, Daniel Craig, Robert De Niro, Guillermo del Toro, Anne Hathaway, Lupita Nyong’o, Tyler Perry, and Gena Rowlands. Dianne Wiest has an Oscar, but her star is coming from the TV side.
TV — Alvin and the Chipmunks, Candice Bergen, Guy Fieri, Terrence Howard, Stacy Keach, Sid and Marty Krofft, Lucy Liu, Mandy Moore, Dianne Wiest, and Julia Child (posthumously).
Music— Michael Buble, Cypress Hill, the Lettermen, Faith Hill, Tommy Mottola, P!nk, and Teddy Riley. Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt, and Emmylou Harris will also receive a star together for “Trio,” and Jackie Wilson will be honored posthumously.
Jackie Wilson should have been there years ago. I want Sam Moore from Sam & Dave to get his star next year.
Other— Idina Menzel, Cedric the Entertainer, Judith Light, and Paul Sorvino will be recognized in the live theater/live performance category. These are weird. Judy Light has a Daytime Emmy and was a huge TV star. Sorvino should be TV. Menzel– I’ll let it go. Guy Fieri? He must be paying for it himself. The Chipmunks? Someone owns their rights.
As for Dolly, Emmylou and Linda– they each deserve their own star!

Share and Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.