Sunday, April 21, 2024

Oscars: No Humanitarian Award This Year, Special Statues to Spike Lee, Debbie Reynolds, Gena Rowlands


Interesting: no Jean Hershholt Humanitarian Award this year, or Thalberg award to a producer. But the Oscars will give Lifetime awards to director Spike Lee, and actresses Debbie Reynolds and Gena Rowlands. Doris Day was passed over again, which is a shanda.

Spike Lee has so many great movies, and no Oscars to show for them. He deserves it.

Rowlands is a popular choice, and legendary for her work with husband John Cassavetes among others.

Debbie Reynolds literally IS Hollywood. The Oscar statue should be recast in her image. And Carrie Fisher giving her the award at the winter Governor’s Ball will be hysterical.

No male actor this time around, and no fourth inductee. Surprising.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News