Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Novelist Michael Chabon Wrote Almost All the Lyrics to Mark Ronson’s New Album


Are you a fan of “The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay”? “The Mysteries of Pittsburgh”? Telegraph Avenue”? Then you’re in luck. Pulitzer Prize winning author Michael Chabon has written almost all the lyrics to Mark Ronson’s new album album. “Uptown Special” comes out January 13th from RCA.  Ronson, son of Ann Dexter Jones and stepson of Mick Jones of Foreigner, is a popular DJ and producer of Amy Winehouse, among others. He calls Chabon his favorite living writer. There are a lot of great studio musicians on the album, as well as Stevie Wonder on Harmonica. Bruno Mars helped write a couple of the song, too– let’s hope they don’t sound like the Police. Using Chabon is the most interesting idea I’ve heard in a long time.  Can’t wait to hear these songs.


Uptown Special Track Listing:

1. Uptown’s First Finale

2. Summer Breaking

3. Feel Right

4. Uptown Funk

5. I Can’t Lose

6. Daffodils

7. Crack In The Pearl

8. In Case Of Fire

9. Leaving Los Feliz

10. Heavy And Rolling

11. Crack In The Pearl pt. II

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News