Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Wolf of Wall Street Producers Settled by the Academy


We now know who would be allowed on the stage at the Dolby Theater if “The Wolf of Wall Street” won Best Picture. The Motion Picture Academy has winnowed down the long list of credited producers to the four who actually did the work and deserve the credit. They are Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Emmy Tillinger Koskoff, and Joey McFarland. Crossed off the list are producers who helped out or raised money in some way: Rick Yorn, Irwin Winkler, and Alexandra Milchan, Richard Barratta, Georgia Kacandes, Danny Dimbort, Riza Aziz, and Adam Somner. They will all be at the party, however. Now if someone could explain why Thelma Schoonmaker wasn’t nominated for Best Editing…

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News