Thursday, May 30, 2024

SAG 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award Will Be Like Deja Vu All Over Again


The SAG Lifetime Achievement Award is going to… Dick van Dyke. Yes, you’re right: it was only last January when the SAG Lifetime Achievement Award went to Mary Tyler Moore. We all love the former Rob and Laurie Petrie of New Rochelle, New York. But why didn’t SAG just give ’em the award together last year? This year’s presentation will be a very strong echo of last year’s presentation. Now Mary will give Dick the award, after Dick gave Mary the award.

The vets from “The Dick van Dyke Show” are a hearty group of active super seniors: Carl Reiner, who’ll be almost 91 next winter, Rose Marie, who will be on her way to 90 in January, and Millie Halper the next door neighbor played by Ann Morgan Guilbert, now 84, who’s had a strong career as a character actor on “Seinfeld” and “The Nanny.” Of course, there’s always Julie Andrews, who was Mary Poppins to van Dyke’s Bert.

I don’t begrudge van Dyke anything, but he was a star. And the SAG Award used to be for veteran character actors who hadn’t gotten the big accolades and awards. There are so many of them. Kevin Bacon would have been a sensational choice, for example. But these special awards, voted by panels, are very political no matter which group is involved from music to TV to movies.

Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman
Roger Friedman began his Showbiz411 column in April 2009 after 10 years with Fox News, where he created the Fox411 column. His movie reviews are carried by Rotten Tomatoes, and he is a member of both the movie and TV branches of the Critics Choice Awards. His articles have appeared in dozens of publications over the years including New York Magazine, where he wrote the Intelligencer column in the mid 90s and covered the OJ Simpson trial, and Fox News (when it wasn't so crazy) where he covered Michael Jackson. He is also the writer and co-producer of "Only the Strong Survive," a selection of the Cannes, Sundance, and Telluride Film festivals, directed by DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

Read more

In Other News